Running To and Fro

21 01 2012

With Loving Kindness

Recently, a gentleman asked if I had heard of Tr–s Di–s and mentioned 72 hour weekend “gatherings” networking America and if I was interested. It was basically a recruiting email.  This was my reply to him.

Hi ‘Johnny’ (Not his real name)

After doing an online search of Tr–s Di–s, I must state that in addition to previous (Extensive) experiences with this type of thing, I personally have no interest in these methods. I pretty much stand by the Apostle Paul: “All I know is Christ and Him crucified.” I Cor. 2:2.  My search for an intimate relationship with Christ begins and ends with the Bible. What you or anyone else decides to do is for the Lord to judge.

If I were sitting across my table talking to you, you’d not hear a harsh tone, so I hope these written words do not ring harshly in your spirit-man for they are offered in loving kindness. However, as my dear Texas husband says, “This ain’t my first Rodeo,” (with these types of methods).

Some of the methods I went through beginning in the early 1970’s through the late 80’s while searching for a closer walk with the Lord was: Moorish Americanism,  the Rosicrucian’s, Native American Believer-Groups, New Age Spiritisms, Universalist Groups, Theophostics Gatherings, Emmaus-Walk folks, various Focused Cell Groups, and many others.

So, all this to say: “Been there-Done that” and (for me) nothing is better than your Bible (an edition that you enjoy), perhaps an Amplified or Study Bible close-by; a few well-written commentaries; a Hebrew/Greek Dictionary and a Strong’s Exhaustive Concordance. Add all those things together with a prayerful, reverent heart of loving Praise before the Lord and at least a mustard-grain-dash of Faith and there is NOTHING that the Lord won’t show you through the Holy Spirit.

Thank you for service in ministering to those in prison. For us all, I suggest we use our weekends to feed the poor; drive the sick and shut-in to their appointments; pray for a young couple facing challenges in their marriage; be a friend to a fatherless teen and ask nothing-nothing in return. Let’s take our “covered dish” and contributions to a homeless shelter (I have lived there too) while sharing His word and in this way you will know the closeness of the Lord Jesus as you serve His sheep; then you will grow in your knowledge of Him.  This is our reasonable service. This is Kingdom work. I invite you to read my blog: https://tnlighthouse.wordpress.com.  TN Lighthouse Ministries only comes out three times a week so I don’t become a nuisance to your “inbox.”

You know ‘Johnny’, Jesus spoke in the book of Matthew 24:26 and also see Daniel 12:4~ That in the last days people would run to and fro seeking Him and seeking more and more knowledge (of Him-on their own terms), but He told us “not” to go where they directed; saying “Lo He is in the desert and Lo He is in the inner room.

Bottom-line, that is what I think these types of gatherings. I believe the people involved are probably loving and sincere; I don’t believe the underlying spirit that crafted these methods is of God.

Let’s pray: “Father-God, we ask that the mind of our understanding be enlightened by your Word and that our hearts receive your instructions and directions through your Holy Spirit, who is the Spirit of truth. Please lead, guide and direct my Brothers and Sisters in Christ Jesus and Lord, please lead me too in your care and keeping, in Jesus name we pray. Amen.    Be Blessed     The Lightkeeper

Actions

Information

And what do YOU think?

